Logo Wagner Arbitration

The Firm 

The law firm WAGNER Arbitration has its offices in Berlin and specializes in dispute resolution with a focus on arbitration. In addition, the firm offers comprehensive counseling services related to domestic and international business disputes and transactions.

As a small group of dedicated attorneys, WAGNER Arbitration has been maintaining the highest level of confidential, personal, and solution-oriented counseling since its inception in 2013. As a multilingual team with a worldwide and interdisciplinary network, we handle complex business disputes and transactions and provide comprehensive legal services in English, French and German.

The founder of the firm, Dr. Philipp K. Wagner, also acts as arbitrator and mediator on a regular basis. Since 2014, he has been recommended in the “Best Lawyers in Germany” directory and in the JUVE Handbook German Commercial Law Firms as one of the top arbitration lawyers in Berlin. He was named the Best Lawyers’ 2016 Berlin Arbitration and Mediation “Lawyer of the Year” and has recently been ranked in the “2017 Who’s Who Legal: Arbitration Future Leaders” Analysis.

The firm is also pleased to announce that Dr. Alexander Steinbrecher is strengthening its footprint in ADR as 1 April 2017. He is one of the most distinguished in-house counsels for dispute resolution and commercial conflict management in Germany.

Philipp K. Wagner
Philipp K. Wagner

Philipp K. Wagner

Partner

Career

Philipp is a German Attorney based in Berlin and admitted to the New York Bar. Prior to setting up WAGNER Arbitration, he worked in a medium sized German law firm, for many years as partner. He specializes in dispute resolution with a focus on arbitration and has extensive experience in cross-border disputes and business transactions. He holds an LL.M. degree from Emory Law School Atlanta and a doctorate degree from Rostock University.

Education

Universities of Regensburg and Berlin Humboldt (Law Degree / J.D. equivalent), Emory Law School (LL.M. 2002) and Rostock (Dr. iur. 2008 in the field of international arbitration); clerk and trainee advocate in Berlin and with a leading arbitration practitioner in Paris; licensed mediator (since 2015).

Practice Areas

Dispute resolution with a focus on arbitration as party counsel, arbitrator and mediator; transaction counseling in the field of domestic and cross-border business law, especially commercial and corporate law as well as real estate law.

Experience

  • over 60 arbitrations as party counsel and arbitrator, including ICC, DIS, SCC, UNCITRAL, GMAA, and ad hoc tribunals,
  • over 60 domestic and foreign state court proceedings, and
  • over 90 mostly cross-border transactions and investments in the technology and real estate sector, including legal due diligence and setting up of businesses.

Other activities and publications

Lecturer at Berlin Humboldt University since 2009 in the field of international arbitration and real estate law; Co-author to several commentaries and author to numerous publications in the fields of international business law and arbitration; non-executive member to two German stock listed real estate companies.

Working languages

English · French · German.

Personal

Born 1975 in Munich · raised in Germany, France and the USA.

Xing-Profil
LinkedIn-Profil


Full CV (including list of publications)
IntroCard
V-Card Philipp K. Wagner

Close
Joseph Schwartz
Joseph Schwartz

Joseph Schwartz

Partner

Career

Joseph is a German Attorney and admitted to the Berlin Bar since 2014. Before joining WAGNER Arbitration in 2015, he worked for various domestic and international law firms, i.a. as an Attorney focusing on dispute resolution, litigation and arbitration as well as corporate law. He holds a doctorate degree from Berlin Humboldt University.

Education

Berlin Humboldt University (Law Degree / J.D. equivalent; Dr. iur. 2012 in the field of domestic and international commercial energy law), Bucerius Law School, Hamburg (Program in international business law); clerk trainee advocate in Berlin and Shanghai.

Practice Areas

Litigation and alternative dispute resolution (with a focus on international commercial arbitration); counseling in business law, commercial contract drafting and corporate law; counseling in the technology sector, especially for IT-, CE- and start-up companies.

Experience

  • Participation in various national and international litigation and arbitration proceedings, inter alia as lead counsel and secretary to the arbitral tribunal
  • negotiation and consultation in several extrajudicial (contractual- and shareholder-) disputes
  • drafting and negotiating commercial contracts, start-up consulting

Working languages

English · German.

Personal

Born 1982 · hometown: Bremen · new home: Berlin · Early adopter with comprehension and enthusiasm for technology.

Xing-Profil
LinkedIn-Profil


Full CV (including list of publications)
IntroCard
V-Card Joseph Schwartz

Close
Claudio Kühn
Claudio Kühn

Claudio Kühn

Associate

Career

Claudio is a German attorney, admitted to the Berlin Bar since 2017. Before joining WAGNER Arbitration, he worked as in-house counsel for a Rocket Internet start-up venture and for law firms in Germany, Turkey and China.

Education

Universities of Mainz, Lausanne and LMU Munich (Law Degree / J.D. equiv); trainee lawyer and clerk with the Higher Regional Court of Berlin and the Federal Foreign Office.

Practice Areas

Advising on all areas of corporate law and finance, in particular venture capital and private equity investments, and acting as party counsel in corporate disputes.

Experience

  • Contract drafting in corporate finance, venture capital and private equity, and M&A transactions
  • Advising and drafting legal opinions on all matters of corporate law
  • In-house counselling in all business law matters, both domestic and international (drafting contracts, setting up companies, compliance, transactions)

Working languages

English · German.

Personal

Born 1985 · Hometown: Wiesbaden.

LinkedIn-Profil


Full CV (including list of publications)
IntroCard
V-Card Claudio Kühn

Close
Florian Dupuy
Florian Dupuy

Florian Dupuy

Of Counsel

Career

Florian is admitted to the Paris Bar as Avocat à la Cour since 2010. He started his career as an associate in a renowned Geneva based business law firm (2010-2012), and is working with a prominent international arbitrator in Switzerland since 2013. Florian joined WAGNER Arbitration as Of Counsel in 2014. He holds a doctorate degree from Berlin Humboldt University and Université Paris 2 Panthéon-Assas and an LL.M. degree from Berlin Humboldt University.

Education

Legal education at University of Cambridge (UK), Université Paris II Panthéon-Assas, and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (LL.M, 2004); Doctorate in international investment law at Université Paris II Panthéon-Assas and Berlin Humboldt University (PhD, 2008); Paris Bar School and traineeship with several international law firms in Paris.

Practice Areas

International arbitration, with a focus on investment treaty arbitration, as counsel and legal expert; legal advice in international, French, and Swiss business law as well as public international law.

Experience

  • Numerous arbitration proceedings as counsel and secretary to the arbitral tribunal (incl. ICC, Swiss Chambers, ICSID, DIS, UNCITRAL, GMAA)
  • Advising clients, including States, on public international law issues
  • Supervising several large scale investment treaty arbitration cases (ICSID, PCA, UNCITRAL) as a clerk for an international arbitrator

Working languages

English · French · German.

Personal

Born 1981 in Paris · raised in France · new home: Berlin.

Xing-Profil
LinkedIn-Profil


Full CV (including list of publications)
IntroCard
V-Card Florian Dupuy

Close
Alexander Steinbrecher
Alexander Steinbrecher

Alexander Steinbrecher

Of Counsel

Career

Alexander is one of the most distinguished in-house counsels for dispute resolution and commercial conflict management in Germany, advising a large international enterprise since 2007. He is admitted to the Berlin Bar since 2008 and has extensive experience in managing litigation, arbitration and mediation proceedings in domestic and international business disputes, specializing in international and German commercial law. Alexander holds an LL.M. degree from Tulane Law School and a doctorate degree from the European-University Viadrina in Frankfurt/Oder. He joined WAGNER Arbitration as Of Counsel in 2017.

Education

Universities of Freiburg and Berlin Humboldt (law degree / J.D. equivalent), Tulane Law School (LL.M. 2003) and European-University Viadrina in Frankfurt/Oder (Dr. iur. 2008 on designing conflict management systems for business enterprises); trained mediator in the USA (2003) and Germany (2005); clerk and legal trainee in Berlin; part-time studies in business administration (2011).

Practice Areas

Alternative dispute resolution as party counsel, neutral evaluator, adjudicator and mediator; advising on domestic and international business transactions, notably drafting and negotiating contracts; advising in the selection, design and conduct of dispute resolution processes (including litigation risk analysis); designing and implementing conflict management systems.

Experience

  • Active involvement in domestic and international litigation, numerous arbitration proceedings, neutral evaluations, adjudications, mini-trials and mediations
  • Legal and strategic advice in domestic and international business transactions involving complex commercial, financial and accounting interfaces
  • Drafting and negotiating domestic and international contracts

Other activities and publications

University lecturer on corporate conflict management systems since 2005 and adjunct professor at the Master Program on Mediation and Conflict Management at the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt/Oder; visiting professor for claim management at the summer program in mediation at Bucerius Law School in 2012 und 2013; numerous publications and presentations in the field of alternative dispute resolution, mediation, arbitration and conflict management.

Working languages

English · German.

Personal

Born 1976 – Raised in Germany and the USA.


Full CV (including list of publications)
IntroCard
V-Card Alexander Steinbrecher

Close
Katharina Meyer
Katharina Meyer

Katharina Meyer

Legal Management

Career

Katharina is responsible for Legal Management & Recruiting at WAGNER Arbitration since July 2016. Prior to that, she worked as paralegal in a medium sized German law firm with a focus on Private Equity and Venture Capital (1999-2016).

Education

Training as Qualified Legal Assistant (Rechtsanwaltsfachangestellte), degree as Paralegal (Rechtsfachwirtin), Beuth University of Applied Sciences Berlin.

Practice Areas

Legal Management; Experience in the area of Start-Ups and Investment Agreements, assistance in real estate transactions and arbitration proceedings, interdisciplinary activity involving legal practice, controlling and communication, Human Resources.

Working languages

English · German.

Personal

Born in 1978 · hometown Schwerin · new home: Berlin.


V-Card Katharina Meyer

Close

Services 

WAGNER Arbitration offers comprehensive counseling services relating to the resolution of business disputes through domestic litigation and alternative dispute settlement mechanisms. The firm also provides advice in cross-border transactions with a focus on international and domestic trade and corporate law, as well as international investment law (ICSID) and public international law.

In cases requiring the co-operation of a larger team, WAGNER Arbitration is supported by a well-functioning network consisting of partner law firms and experts domestically and abroad.

Arbitration

  • Pre-arbitral legal advice
  • Counsel services in arbitration proceedings
  • Ancillary counselling services to law firms in Germany and other jurisdictions, e.g. as co-counsel and expert
  • Counsel services in arbitration-related state court proceedings
  • Arbitrator services as co-arbitrator, sole arbitrator and chairman of the tribunal

Dispute Resolution

  • Out of court dispute resolution services
  • Mediation services as party counsel and mediator
  • Domestic litigation
  • Advisory and client support in foreign state court proceedings
  • Expert advice on specific features of international civil procedure
  • Special expertise in shareholder and other corporate disputes

International Contracts

  • Advice in cross-border transactions and investments, particularly in the real estate and technology sectors
  • Drafting and negotiating international trade contracts and terms
  • Special expertise in trade and corporate law, international sales law (CISG) and commercial real estate law

When will mankind be convinced and agree to settle their difficulties by arbitration?

Benjamin Franklin

Investment arbitration

Not too long ago, conflicts between private investors and states were often resolved through the costly means of naval warfare. Today, arbitration - as a peaceful means of dispute resolution - has largely replaced such so-called “gunboat diplomacy”. This shift has occurred for a reason:

Investor-State arbitration is an efficient and fair international legal procedure available to investors to directly bring a claim against a foreign State on the territory of which they have invested.

Claims may arise from any kind of active or passive adverse State interference and are brought on the basis of bilateral investment treaties (BITs) agreed to between States to provide foreign investors with substantive legal protection.

International investment claims are heard by neutral tribunals composed of competent, highly specialized arbitrators that are freely chosen by the parties and that have the power to issue legally binding awards.

Expertise

WAGNER Arbitration offers services to both investors and States in disputes arising out of investment treaties. Ideally situated in the government district of central Berlin, the firm not only offers exposure to a truly global network of governmental and non-governmental institutions, but it also provides access to build upon its well-established legal, business and governmental relationships.

  • Counsel & Co-Counsel services in investment treaty arbitration proceedings before all major forums (including GMAA, ICSID, ICC, LCIA, SCC, UNICTRAL), with a special focus on emerging markets, advice to both States and investors with respect to negotiation, and counsel in connection with investment treaty and ancillary investment contracts;
  • Expert advice on evaluation of investment treaty arbitration outcomes prior to the commencement of proceedings; and
  • Succinct expert opinions on various legal issues in relation to foreign investment protection mechanisms.

Representative Experience

Dr. Florian Dupuy is the investment law specialist at WAGNER Arbitration. He has gathered considerable practical experience in investment treaty arbitration, in both ICSID and UNCITRAL proceedings, in particular in the context of his practice within the internationally renowned Swiss-based law firm LALIVE. Examples of his work include:

  • Advising an Eastern European Government in a USD 100 million investment dispute brought by United States investors under the ICSID Arbitration Rules concerning the privatization of state assets in the media and tourism sectors.
  • Advising a Fortune 500 company against a South American government in an ICSID arbitration concerning regulatory measures.
  • Advising a West Asian government in annulment proceedings in a large ICSID dispute concerning alleged breaches of international law, including expropriation.
  • Involvement in the preparation of a comprehensive Handbook on investment law for a Central European government, including a thorough analysis of the investment treaty program of the State.
  • Assisting a renowned international arbitrator in several high-profile investment arbitration cases involving Venezuela, Hungary, Algeria and the Slovak Republic.

Download PDF

Books

  • Co-author on international sales law (CISG) in a German online commentary and a Swiss commentary (Wagner)
  • Co-author of a commentary on the ICC and DIS arbitration rules (Wagner)
  • Doctorate thesis on international investment law (Dupuy), international insolvency law and international arbitration (Wagner) and international energy law (Schwartz)

The Legitimate Expectations of the Parties in International Investment Law and Comparative Contract Law

Contributions

Regular publications and case reports in English and German, in domestic and international journals, in particular in the following areas:

  • International and german commercial arbitration law
  • International investment law and public international law
  • International civil procedure

Lectures and Presentations

  • Regular presentations and speeches in English, French and German on arbitration and other business law related topics
  • Lecturer at Berlin Humboldt University since 2009, currently on international arbitration, as part of the Master’s Program on International Dispute Resolution
  • Regular presentations and workshops on the drafting of written pleadings in international arbitration
  • Involvement as coach, advisor, consultant and sponsor of the annual team representing Berlin Humboldt University at the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot

For further details on individual publications and presentations, please refer to each lawyer’s profile.

Logo Wagner Arbitration

Die Kanzlei 

Die Kanzlei WAGNER Arbitration hat ihren Sitz in Berlin und ist auf gerichtliche und außergerichtliche Streitbeilegung mit Schwerpunkt Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit spezialisiert. Eine weitere Kernkompetenz ist die Beratung im nationalen und internationalen Wirtschaftsrecht.

Seit der Gründung im Jahr 2013 steht WAGNER Arbitration als kompakte Einheit für ein Höchstmaß an Vertraulichkeit und persönlichem, lösungsorientiertem Engagement. Dank unserer Mehrsprachigkeit und unseres weltweiten und interdisziplinären Netzwerks können wir komplexe Wirtschaftsstreitigkeiten und Transaktionen umfassend auf Deutsch, Englisch und Französisch betreuen.

Der Kanzleigründer Dr. Philipp K. Wagner ist zudem regelmäßig als Schiedsrichter und als Mediator tätig. Er wird seit 2014 im „JUVE Handbuch Wirtschaftskanzleien“ und im Verzeichnis „The Best Lawyers in Germany“ als einer der Top-Ansprechpartner für Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit in Berlin geführt. Zuletzt wurde er in das Ranking „2017 Who’s Who Legal: Arbitration Future Leaders“ als erfahrener Schiedsrechtler und Transaktionsberater aufgenommen.

Zum 1. April 2017 hat sich Dr. Alexander Steinbrecher der Kanzlei als weiterer Of Counsel angeschlossen. Mit ihm erweitert die Kanzlei ihr Profil vor allem auf den Gebieten der Wirtschaftsmediation und des Konfliktmanagements.

Dr. Philipp K. Wagner, LL.M.
Dr. Philipp K. Wagner, LL.M.

Beruflicher Werdegang

Seit 2005 in Berlin als Rechtsanwalt und in New York als Attorney-at-Law zugelassen; von 2005 bis zur Gründung von WAGNER Arbitration im Jahr 2013 Anwalt in einer mittelständischen überregionalen Wirtschaftsrechtskanzlei tätig, zuletzt mehrere Jahre als Partner; Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats zweier börsennotierter Immobilienunternehmen.

Ausbildung

Juristische Ausbildung an den Universitäten Regensburg, Humboldt zu Berlin, Emory Law School Atlanta (LL.M. 2002) und Rostock (Dr. iur. 2008 im Bereich der internationalen Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit); Referendariat in Berlin und bei führendem Schiedsrechtler in Paris; Ausbildung zum Mediator in Berlin (2015).

Schwerpunkte

Außergerichtliche und gerichtliche Streitbeilegung, vor allem Schiedsverfahren, als Parteivertreter, Schiedsrichter und Mediator; Beratung im internationalen und nationalen Wirtschaftsrecht, vor allem Handels- und Gesellschaftsrecht und Immobilienrecht.

Erfahrung

Tätigkeit in mehr als

  • 60 Schiedsverfahren als Parteivertreter und seit 2008 als Schiedsrichter (u.a. ICC, DIS, SCC, UNCITRAL, GMAA, IHK, ad hoc),
  • 60 Gerichtsprozessen vor in- und ausländischen Gerichten und
  • 90 fast nur grenzüberschreitenden Transaktionen und Beteiligungen im Technologie- und Immobiliensektor, einschließlich Legal Due Diligence und Unternehmensgründung.

Sonstige Tätigkeiten und Publikationen

Seit 2009 Lehrbeauftragter an der Humboldt-Universität (seit 2015 für internationale Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit; 2009-2014 internationales Kaufrecht und Schiedsverfahrensrecht sowie Immobilienrecht); Co-Autorenschaft verschiedener Kommentierungen und Buchprojekte sowie regelmäßige Veröffentlichungen und Vorträge im internationalen Wirtschaftsrecht und Schiedsverfahrensrecht.

Arbeitssprachen

Deutsch · Englisch · Französisch.

Persönliches

Geboren 1975 in München · aufgewachsen in Deutschland, Frankreich und den USA · wird eines Tages ein Kinderbuch illustrieren.

Xing-Profil
LinkedIn-Profil


Ausführlicher Lebenslauf (mit Veröffentlichungsliste)
Kurzprofil
V-Card Dr. Philipp K. Wagner, LL.M.

Close
Dr. Joseph Schwartz
Dr. Joseph Schwartz

Beruflicher Werdegang

Seit 2014 in Berlin als Rechtsanwalt zugelassen; seit 2015 bei WAGNER Arbitration tätig, seit 2017 als Partner; zuvor bereits, u.a. als Rechtsanwalt, in verschiedenen nationalen und internationalen wirtschaftsrechtlich ausgerichteten Kanzleien mit den Schwerpunkten Litigation und Arbitration sowie Gesellschaftsrecht tätig.

Ausbildung

Juristische Ausbildung an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und Fortbildung (International Business Law) an der Bucerius Law School, Hamburg; Promotion an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (Dr. iur. 2012 im nationalen und internationalen Energiewirtschaftsrecht); Ausbildungsstationen im Rahmen des Referendariats in führenden Wirtschaftskanzleien in Berlin und Shanghai.

Schwerpunkte

Gerichtliche und außergerichtliche Prozessführung und Streitbeilegung (mit Schwerpunkt Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit), Beratung im Wirtschaftsrecht, bei der Vertragsgestaltung und gesellschaftsrechtlichen Fragen; Beratung im Technologiesektor, v.a. IT-, CE- und Startup-Unternehmen.

Erfahrung

  • Mitarbeit an diversen nationalen und internationalen Gerichts- und Schiedsverfahren, u.a. als Lead Counsel sowie als Sekretär des Schiedsgerichts
  • Verhandlungsführung und Beratung in verschiedenen außergerichtlichen Vertrags- und Gesellschafterstreitigkeiten
  • Erstellung und Verhandlung von Handelsverträgen, Gründungsberatung

Arbeitssprachen

Deutsch · Englisch.

Persönliches

Jahrgang 1982 ·  Heimatstadt: Bremen · neue Heimat: Berlin · Early Adopter mit Verständnis und Begeisterung für Technik.

Xing-Profil
LinkedIn-Profil


Ausführlicher Lebenslauf (mit Veröffentlichungsliste)
Kurzprofil
V-Card Dr. Joseph Schwartz

Close
Claudio Kühn
Claudio Kühn

Claudio Kühn

Associate

Beruflicher Werdegang

Seit 2017 als Rechtsanwalt zugelassen und Associate bei WAGNER Arbitration, zuvor langjährige Tätigkeiten als In-House-Counsel eines Rocket Internet Ventures sowie in Wirtschaftskanzleien in Deutschland, Türkei und China.

Ausbildung

Juristische Ausbildung an den Universitäten Mainz, Lausanne und München; Referendariat am Kammergericht Berlin mit Station im Nahostreferat des Auswärtigen Amtes.

Schwerpunkte

Beratung in allen Fragen des Gesellschaftsrechts, insbesondere Venture Capital und Private Equity, im Bank- und Kapitalmarktrecht und bei Gesellschafterstreitigkeiten.

Erfahrung

  • Vertragsgestaltung im Bereich Corporate Finance, Venture Capital und Private Equity, sowie bei Unternehmenstransaktionen (M&A)
  • Allgemeine gesellschaftsrechtliche Beratung und Gutachten im Aktienrecht und GmbH-Recht
  • Umfassende unternehmensinterne Rechtsberatung in allen wirtschaftsrechtlichen Fragestellungen im In- und Ausland (Vertragsgestaltung, Gründung, Compliance, Transaktionen)

Arbeitssprachen

Deutsch · Englisch.

Persönliches

Jahrgang 1985 · Heimatstadt Wiesbaden.

LinkedIn-Profil


Ausführlicher Lebenslauf (mit Veröffentlichungsliste)
Kurzprofil
V-Card Claudio Kühn

Close
Dr. Florian Dupuy, LL.M.
Dr. Florian Dupuy, LL.M.

Beruflicher Werdegang

Seit 2010 in Paris als Avocat à la Cour zugelassen; von 2010 bis 2012 als Associate bei einer renommierten Genfer Wirtschaftsrechtskanzlei tätig; seit 2013 selbständige Tätigkeit für prominenten internationalen Schiedsrichter in der Schweiz; seit 2014 zusätzlich Of Counsel bei WAGNER Arbitration.

Ausbildung

Juristische Ausbildung an den Universitäten Cambridge (UK), Paris II Panthéon-Assas, und Humboldt zu Berlin (LL.M, 2004); Promotion an den Universitäten Paris II Panthéon-Assas und Humboldt zu Berlin (Dr. iur. 2008 im Bereich des internationalen Investitionsschutzrechts); Pariser Anwaltsschule und Anwaltsausbildung (Avocat stagiaire) bei verschiedenen internationalen Großkanzleien in Paris.

Schwerpunkte

Internationale Schiedsverfahren mit Schwerpunkt Investitionsschiedsrecht (Investment Treaty Arbitration) als Parteivertreter und Rechtsgutachter; Beratung im internationalen und französischen sowie schweizerischen Wirtschaftsrecht sowie im Völkerrecht.

Erfahrung

  • Zahlreiche Schiedsverfahren als Parteivertreter und Sekretär des Schiedsgerichts (u.a. ICC, Swiss Chambers, ICSID, DIS, UNCITRAL, GMAA)
  • Völkerrechtliche Beratung, auch von Staaten
  • Betreuung diverser Investitionsschiedsfälle (ICSID, PCA, UNCITRAL) als Mitarbeiter eines internationalen Schiedsrichters

Arbeitssprachen

Deutsch · Englisch · Französisch.

Persönliches

Jahrgang 1981 · Heimatstadt Paris, neue Heimat: Berlin, aufgewachsen in Frankreich · jazzt in zwei Berliner Bands als Kontrabassist.

LinkedIn-Profil


Ausführlicher Lebenslauf (mit Veröffentlichungsliste)
Kurzprofil
V-Card Dr. Florian Dupuy, LL.M.

Close
Dr. Alexander Steinbrecher, LL.M.
Dr. Alexander Steinbrecher, LL.M.

Dr. Alexander Steinbrecher, LL.M.

Of Counsel

Beruflicher Werdegang

Einer der profiliertesten Unternehmensjuristen für Streitbeilegung und Konfliktmanagement in Deutschland; seit 2007 Justiziar eines internationalen Großunternehmens und seit 2008 in Berlin als Rechtsanwalt zugelassen, besondere Erfahrung in der Durchführung von wirtschaftlichen Zivilprozessen, Schiedsverfahren und Mediationen sowie im internationalen und deutschen Wirtschaftsrecht; seit 2017 zusätzlich Of Counsel bei WAGNER Arbitration.

Ausbildung

Juristische Ausbildung an den Universitäten Freiburg, Humboldt zu Berlin, Tulane Law School (LL.M. 2003) und Frankfurt (Oder) (Dr. iur. 2008 zu Konfliktmanagementsystemen in Wirtschaftsunternehmen); Ausbildung zum Mediator in den USA (2003) und Deutschland (2005); Referendariat in Berlin; berufsbegleitendes betriebswirtschaftliches Studium (2011).

Schwerpunkte

Außergerichtliche Streitbeilegung als Parteivertreter, Schiedsgutachter, Schlichter und Mediator; Beratung im internationalen und nationalen Wirtschaftsrecht, vor allem bei der Vertragsgestaltung; Beratung bei der Auswahl, Gestaltung und Durchführung von Streitbeilegungsverfahren (inklusive betriebswirtschaftlicher Prozessrisikoanalyse) sowie bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Konfliktmanagementsystemen.

Erfahrung

  • Mitarbeit an diversen nationalen und internationalen Gerichts-, Schiedsverfahren sowie Schiedsgutachten, Mini-Trials und Mediationen
  • Juristische und strategische Beratung bei diversen Transaktionen mit komplexen betriebswirtschaftlichen, finanztechnischen und buchhalterischen Schnittstellen
  • Erstellung und Verhandlung von internationalen und nationalen Verträgen

Arbeitssprachen

Deutsch · Englisch.

Persönliches

Geboren 1976 – aufgewachsen in Deutschland und den USA – wird eines Tages mit dem Camper von Berlin nach Kapstadt fahren.


Ausführlicher Lebenslauf (mit Veröffentlichungsliste)
Kurzprofil
V-Card Dr. Alexander Steinbrecher, LL.M.

Close
Katharina Meyer
Katharina Meyer

Katharina Meyer

Legal Management

Beruflicher Werdegang

Seit Juli 2016 Legal Management & Recruiting bei WAGNER Arbitration, zuvor als Rechtsfachwirtin bei einer mittelständischen, überregionalen Wirtschaftsrechtskanzlei mit Schwerpunkt Handels- und Gesellschaftsrecht (1999-2016).

Ausbildung

Ausbildung zur Rechtsanwaltsfachangestellten in Schwerin, Fernstudium zur Rechtsfachwirtin an der Beuth Hochschule für Technik Berlin.

Schwerpunkte

Legal Management, Erfahrungen im Bereich Start-Up und Beteiligungsverträge, Assistenz in Schiedsverfahren und Immobilientransaktionen, Tätigkeit an der Schnittstelle zwischen anwaltlicher Praxis, Systemsteuerung und Kommunikation, Personalmanagement.

Arbeitssprachen

Deutsch · Englisch.

Persönliches

Jahrgang 1978 · Heimatstadt Schwerin · neue Heimat: Berlin.


V-Card Katharina Meyer

Close

Leistungen 

Wir bieten sämtliche anwaltlichen Leistungen im Rahmen der gerichtlichen und außergerichtlichen Lösung von Wirtschaftsstreitigkeiten sowie im Bereich der Vertragsgestaltung mit fachlichem Schwerpunkt im internationalen und nationalen Handels- und Gesellschaftsrecht sowie im Investitionsschutzrecht (ICSID) und im Völkerrecht.

Sofern ein größeres Team erforderlich wird, können wir auf ein gut organisiertes und vielseitig ausgerichtetes Netzwerk aus Partnerkanzleien und Spezialisten im In- und Ausland zurückgreifen.

Arbitration

Schiedsverfahren

  • Beratung und Gutachten im Vorfeld einer Streitigkeit
  • Parteivertretung in Schiedsverfahren
  • Unterstützungsleistungen für in- und ausländische Kanzleien als Co-Counsel und Gutachter
  • Parteivertretung in staatlichen schiedsbezogenen Prozessen
  • Schiedsrichtertätigkeit als parteibenannter Schiedsrichter, Einzelschiedsrichter und Vorsitzender des Schiedsgerichts

Dispute Resolution

Sonstige Streitbeilegung

  • Außergerichtliche Streitbeilegung
  • Mediation als Parteivertreter und Mediator
  • Prozessführung und Vertretung vor inländischen Gerichten
  • Begleitung in Verfahren vor ausländischen Gerichten
  • Beratung bei besonderen Verfahrensfragen in internationalen Prozessen
  • Besondere Expertise in der Beratung bei Gesellschafterstreitigkeiten

International Contracts

Internationale Vertragsgestaltung

  • Beratung bei grenzüberschreitenden und inländischen Transaktionen und Unternehmensgründungen, vor allem im Immobilien- und Technologiesektor
  • Prüfung und Gestaltung nationaler und internationaler Handelsverträge und Vertriebsmodelle
  • Besondere Expertise im Handels- und Gesellschaftsrecht, im internationalen Kaufrecht (CISG) sowie im Immobilienwirtschaftsrecht mit Bezug zum Bank- und Kapitalmarktrecht

When will mankind be convinced and agree to settle their difficulties by arbitration?

Benjamin Franklin

Deshalb:
Investitionsschiedsgerichtsbarkeit

Früher trug man grenzüberschreitende Konflikte zwischen Staaten und Investoren mit Kriegsschiffen aus. Heute setzt man sich an einen Tisch: Die sogenannte Kanonenbootdiplomatie ist friedlichen Schiedsverfahren gewichen.

Investitionsschiedsschiedsverfahren sind effiziente und faire Mittel zur Beilegung von Streitigkeiten zwischen im Ausland investierenden Unternehmen und ihren Gaststaaten auf Augenhöhe. Als Rechtsgrundlage dient heute nahezu ausschließlich ein zwischen dem Heimatstaat des Investors und dem Gaststaat geschlossenes Investitionsschutzabkommen (auch „Bilateral Investment Treaty“, kurz „BIT“). Hieraus kann der Investor eigene Rechte, etwa Entschädigungsansprüche, ableiten.

Das Verfahren findet vor neutralen und spezialisierten Schiedsgerichten statt, die von beiden Parteien gewählt werden. Kommt es im Verlauf des Verfahrens zu keiner gütlichen Einigung, entscheidet das Schiedsgericht durch einen finalen und verbindlichen Schiedsspruch.

Unsere Expertise

WAGNER Arbitration bietet Investoren und Staaten an, sie im Rahmen derartiger Verfahren rechtlich zu begleiten und zu vertreten. Wegen ihrer idealen Lage im Regierungsbezirk Berlins kann die Kanzlei nicht nur die Betreuung von staatlichen und nicht-staatlichen Organisationen vor Ort unkompliziert anbieten, sondern gleichzeitig auf ein hervorragendes lokales Netzwerk zurückgreifen.

  • Vertretung von Staaten und Investoren (auch als „Co-Counsel“) in Investitionsschiedsverfahren vor allen wichtigen Schiedsinstitutionen (insb. ICSID, ICC, UNCITRAL, LCIA, SCC) mit einem speziellen Fokus auf Schwellenländer
  • Beratung von Staaten und Investoren im Vorfeld einer Klageerhebung oder Verteidigung
  • Gutachten zu Rechtsfragen und Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten von Investitionsschutzmechanismen

Unsere Referenzen

Dr. Florian Dupuy ist bei WAGNER Arbitration der Spezialist für Investitionsschiedsverfahren. Er verfügt unter anderem aus seiner Tätigkeit für die renommierte Wirtschaftsrechtskanzlei LALIVE in Genf über jahrelange Erfahrung sowohl in ICSID- als auch in UNCITRAL-Schiedsverfahren.

  • Beratung einer osteuropäischen Regierung in einem ICSID-Schiedsverfahren US-amerikanischer Investoren wegen der Privatisierung von Staatseigentum im Medien- und Tourismussektor im Wert von 100 Millionen USD.
  • Beratung eines Fortune 500 Unternehmens in einem ICSID-Schiedsverfahren gegen einen südamerikanischen Staat wegen regulatorischer Maßnahmen.
  • Beratung eines westasiatischen Staates bei einer Nichtigkeitsklage im Rahmen eines ICSID-Schiedsverfahrens wegen angeblicher Verstöße gegen internationales Recht, insbesondere zu Fragen der Enteignung.
  • Mitwirkung bei der Erstellung eines umfassenden Handbuchs zum Investitionsschutzrecht für einen zentraleuropäischen Staat, einschließlich einer grundlegenden Analyse der Investitionsabkommen des Staates.
  • Unterstützung eines renommierten Schiedsrichters in verschiedenen prominenten Investitionsschiedsverfahren mit Beteiligung von u.a. Venezuela, Ungarn, Algerien und der Slowakischen Republik.

PDF downloaden

Bücher & Buchprojekte

  • Kommentierung zum UN-Kaufrecht (CISG) in einem deutschen Online-Großkommentar und einem schweizerischen Kommentar (Wagner)
  • Kommentierung in einem deutschen Praxiskommentar zu den Schiedsgerichtsordnungen der ICC und der DIS (Wagner)
  • Dissertationen im Investitionsschutzrecht (Dupuy), im internationalen Schiedsverfahrensrecht und Insolvenzrecht (Wagner) und im grenzüberschreitenden Energierecht (Schwartz)

The Legitimate Expectations of the Parties in International Investment Law and Comparative Contract Law

Veröffentlichungen

Fachbeiträge und Entscheidungsbesprechungen auf Englisch und Deutsch in in- und ausländischen Fachzeitschriften, insbesondere in folgenden Bereichen:

  • Investitionsschutzrecht und Völkerrecht
  • Internationales und nationales Schiedsrecht mit Bezügen zum Insolvenzrecht und zum Gesellschaftsrecht
  • Internationales Prozessrecht

Vortrag und Lehre

  • Regelmäßige Vorträge auf Französisch, Englisch und Deutsch zu Themen der internationalen Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit und anderen wirtschaftsrechtlichen Fragestellungen
  • Lehrtätigkeit als Lehrbeauftragter an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin seit 2009, derzeit für internationale Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit im Rahmen des Masterprogramms „International Dispute Resolution“
  • Regelmäßige Vorträge und Workshops zum Verfassen von Schriftsätzen in internationalen Schiedsverfahren
  • Engagement als Berater, Referenten und Sponsoren des jährlichen Teams der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin beim Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot

Weitere Details zu den einzelnen Publikationen entnehmen Sie bitte dem Lebenslauf des jeweiligen Anwalts.

Kanzlei Dossier
Juve Handbuch 2015/2016

Kanzlei Dossier
Juve Handbuch 2015/2016

Seit 2014 wird die Kanzlei im „JUVE Handbuch Wirtschaftskanzleien“ insbesondere im Bereich Konfliktlösung/Dispute Resolution empfohlen.

Mehr erfahren

Kanzlei Dossier
Juve Handbuch 2016/2017

Kanzlei Dossier
Juve Handbuch 2016/2017

In der neuesten Ausgabe des JUVE Handbuchs werden insbesondere die starken mediativen Fähigkeiten von Dr. Philipp K. Wagner hervorgehoben.

Mehr erfahren